Archive for February 2016

Organising Group


Meet the wonderful team behind the Batemans Bay Writers Festival. Each member is passionate about exploring and discovering more about books, literature and the creative process.

In doing so, we aim to provide an enjoyable cultural and literary experience.

Marion Roubos- Bennett, Festival Director, Events and Program Coordinator

MarionJuneA2013 053Crop Marion has 23 years experience in literary events, book-related lifestyle events and events promoting the State Library of New South Wales’ collections and exhibitions ─ from event concept and management, to promotion and presentation. She also worked writing and editing various event and exhibition related publications for the Library, and provided workshops in book preservation. Marion tutors a monthly course called Art and artists in literature and leads a book discussion group at the University of the Third Age or U3A. Marion holds a Master of Arts (Management) from UTS and a Master of Music from UNSW.


Julie Stuart, Secretary

julieJulie is a retired adult educator and business owner. For over 20 years, Julie held many committee positions for the Business and Professional Women’s organisation in Parramatta. She is a regular volunteer for Sydney Eisteddfod. As a Councillor on the Board of the Friends of the Australian Ballet Julie initiated several successful functions which raised thousands of dollars for the Ballet. Since moving full time to Batemans Bay, after having visited the area for more than 40 years, Julie has become become involved with the South Coast Music Society and the Batemans Bay Writers Festival.

James Henningham, Treasurer

JGHWebJames holds an honours degree in Economics from the University of Sydney and has obtained formal Accounting qualifications. He started his working career on the staff of CSR Ltd. He worked in varying positions including factory accounting, public relations, industrial relations and human resources. After leaving CSR he has worked in a variety of roles, including an administrative role in a tin mining company in Indonesia; ten years in IT as a member of project teams introducing major computer systems for two NSW Government departments; and work for a small consulting company which involved opinion surveys and public consultation at many levels.

Brian HarrisMember
BHWebBrian has also retired to the Eurobodalla region. With his background in  education he is particularly passionate about the inclusion of quality literature into the English curriculum. He has been a Senior Education Officer (Literacy) and also a school principal in Sydney’s Eastern suburbs. He is currently involved in a number of community activities and is on the Eurobodalla Shire Heritage Advisory Committee as well as being the secretary of the Moruya and District Historical Society. Brian maintains the festival’s website and Facebook pages.

Charles Stuart, Member

P1040635Charles Stuart has a 25 year history with Variety – The Children’s Charity. Charles is the driving force behind raising funds for the inclusive playground at Corrigans Beach Reserve, Batemans Bay, being president of the not-for-profit organisation supporting expansion of the playground.

 He is a retired owner of two successful private sector businesses and has had almost 30 years’ experience in the financial industry, having commenced work with the Rural Bank of NSW in 1963, in which he concluded as a senior branch manager in 1992. He is a past Treasurer of Batemans Bay Bushwalking club where he also served a term as Walks Organiser and is currently their auditor. Charles has just retired as Treasurer of the South Coast Music Society, but remains a committee member.


The Organising Group of the 2015 Batemans Bay Writers Festival



Back: Rita Wagner, Sharyn Saville, Sarah Veitch, Stephanie Williams, Sue Mackenzie, James Henningham
Front: Gary Kelly, Marion Roubos-Bennett (Festival Director, Events and Program Coordinator)


Notice of Annual General Meeting 16 Feb 2016

Notice is hereby given that the third AGM of the Batemans Bay Writers Festival Inc. will be held at the Eurobodalla Adult Education Centre, 42 Orient Street, Batemans Bay on TUESDAY 16 FEBRUARY 2016 commencing at 5.00 pm.

If you wish to attend can you please RSVP by either:


  1. To receive from the Committee a report on the activities of the Society in the year ended 31 January 2016
  2. To receive and consider the Financial Statement required to be submitted to members pursuant to Section 26(6) of the Associations Incorporation Act 1984
  3. To elect office-bearers and ordinary members of the Committee: President/Festival Director, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, 4 x Committee Members, and Public Officer.
  4. General Business:
    1. To decide the signatories for the Society’s Annual Return to the Department of Fair Trading

By order of the Committee

Julie Stuart   (Acting Secretary)

Date: 8 January 2016

Note. Nominations of candidates for election as office-bearers or as ordinary members of the Committee (five persons) of the Society must be made in writing, be signed by two members of the Society, be accompanied by the candidate’s written consent (which may be endorsed on the nomination form) and be delivered to the Secretary (by hand or at PO Box 333, Batemans Bay NSW 2536) not less than seven days before the date fixed for the Annual General Meeting. If the number of candidates for appointment exceeds the number of vacancies to be filled, a ballot for that appointment will be held at the above meeting.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –  – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –



We, the undersigned, being members of the Batemans Bay Writers Festival Inc. hereby nominate

_ _ _ _ _ _ __ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _(full name) as a candidate for election as

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _(state whether as office-bearer, and if so which,

or as ordinary member) at the Annual General Meeting of the Society to be held on 16/2/2016.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _      Proposer _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _     Seconder

Consent of candidate _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _        Date _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _